Google Won’t Shut Down Your Legacy G Suite Account After All

Bydiana

May 22, 2022 , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Google ultimately released a resolution for individuals with “legacy” G Suite Google accounts. Immediately after at first threatening to shut down totally free G Suite accounts if people didn’t start out shelling out for the service, Google has fully backed off. As soon as customers jump by means of some sign-up hoops, Google will allow their ~16-calendar year-aged accounts to proceed functioning. You can even get to retain your email tackle.

The saga so considerably, if you have not been subsequent, is that Google has a custom-area user account provider, at present known as “Google Workspace” and previously termed “G Suite” and “Google Apps.” The provider is mainly a standard Google account that allows you use an e-mail that finishes in your personalized area name rather than “@gmail.com.” Currently this services is aimed at firms and expenses funds every single thirty day period, but that was not often the case. From 2006 to 2012, customized domain Google accounts ended up free of charge and have been even pitched at family members as a geeky way to have an on the internet Google id.

In January, some bean counter at Google seemingly observed this small team of longtime people was technically obtaining a compensated support for free of charge and decided this was unacceptable. Google posted an announcement in January declaring these men and women “Legacy G Suite people” and fundamentally informed them, “Shell out up or shed your account.” These buyers signed up for a free Google provider and stored data on it for as extensive as 16 several years, and there have been no indications it would ever be charged. Google held this 10 years-furthermore of person info hostage, telling people to start off shelling out business enterprise prices for Workspace or encounter an account shutdown.

A 7 days afterwards, soon after the unavoidable public outcry, Google relented relatively and explained vaguely that it would finally provide “an choice for you to shift your non-Google Workspace paid out written content and most of your details to a no-charge possibility.” Declaring you are going to be capable to continue to keep “most of your knowledge” that you’ve got been accumulating for 16 decades is a instead alarming assertion. Google’s 1 little bit of specifics in January was that “this new choice will not likely include things like quality functions like tailor made e-mail,” so you’d have to halt hosting your email with Google, and you’d presumably have to go as a result of some wild Google account conversion method. It then enable these buyers anxiously flap in the wind, with no more specifics, for six months.

How to Conserve Your Free of charge G Suite Account

In May, Google last but not least informed these users what would occur to their accounts. The new support page suggests, “For people and families using your account for non-commercial reasons, you can continue on employing the G Suite legacy cost-free version and decide out of the changeover to Google Workspace.” The link for that is below or in your G Suite admin panel. You can have to have to confirm that your G Suite account is for particular use, and not business enterprise use, for the reason that corporations are continue to envisioned to spend for Workspace. If you previously bent to Google’s will and began shelling out for Workspace since of the January announcement, Google states you should really make contact with support.

The most significant information from this most up-to-date announcement is that Google has resolved from having people’s custom electronic mail absent. A 2nd assistance page suggests, “You can carry on utilizing your custom made domain with Gmail, retain obtain to no-value Google expert services these kinds of as Google Generate and Google Meet, and keep your purchases and information.” It now sounds like there will be no improvements to your account, supplied you click on through the “self-transition” monitor before the deadline.

The deadline to choose out of an account shutdown, which has modified various moments now, is June 27, 2022. If you will not full this choose-out by June 27, you will be instantly billed for Workspace. If you will not have a card on file and really don’t choose out, your account will be suspended on August 1 and shut down.

The automatic enrollment and billing, without explicit user consent, is one particular of the wilder components of this story. If you will not carefully comply with the tech information scene, you can find a very good opportunity you will not know this is coming, and you will both abruptly be billed without having your consent or find that your Google account has quickly stopped performing.

For a business whose important business enterprise pillar is convincing users to store wide amounts of data on its servers, enjoying game titles like this is a strange final decision. At least it came to a sensible conclusion.

This story at first appeared on Ars Technica.

By diana